Lakeview Regional Medical Center, a campus of Tulane Medical Center, recently hosted its annual Volunteer Appreciation Luncheon at Benedict’s Plantation in Mandeville, honoring its 73 devoted volunteers who have worked a total of 20,746 hours.

Each volunteer received a pin for service hours performed, as well as a gift from Lakeview Regional. “We sincerely appreciate our volunteers for the time, care and hospitality they provide to our patients and their loved ones,” said Hiral Patel, Lakeview Regional’s CEO. “Their role in providing our patients with an exceptional experience helps ensure we are providing the highest quality care and contributes to our future success.”

At the luncheon, donations were presented to various charities within St. Tammany Parish, with recipients being determined by a vote of the auxiliary members. Money was raised through numerous fundraisers throughout the year and from profits made in “The Duck’s Nest” hospital gift shop, which is operated by the volunteer auxiliary. 

Charities receiving donations were: St. Tammany Children’s Advocacy Center/Hope House,  Northshore Food Bank, Northshore Humane Society, Pennies for Bread, Safe Harbor – Northshore, Seniors & Law Enforcement Together – SALT, STOPS (St. Tammany Outreach for Prevention of Suicide), and Volunteers of America Greater New Orleans – RSVP – St. Tammany Parish. Other charities receiving donations throughout the year include Alzheimer’s Association, American Heart Association, NAMI, Special Olympics, and Wounded War Heroes.

The total amount donated by the auxiliary was $18,204.  In the past 15 years, the auxiliary has donated a total of $407,245 to more than 45 different local charities. One charity, Pennies for Bread, has received a donation every year.

Installation of the new auxiliary officers was also conducted by Patel at the luncheon. New board members for the Lakeview Regional Volunteer Auxiliary include Kathy Gibbs, president; Antoinette Weatherly, vice president; Penny Eiffert, treasurer; Viola Dickson, secretary; and Jerry Lambert, past president.